List of sovereign states and dependent territories in Africa

This is a list of sovereign states and dependent territories in Africa, with information about their respective capitals, languages, currencies, population, area and GDP per capita. Malta and parts of Italy, Spain, Portugal and France are located on the African continental plate, however they are considered European by convention. The island of Socotra is also on the African plate, but is part of the Asian state of Yemen.

About the author



Adetunji Teejay Bolorunduro holds MSc in Economic Development from the prestigious Adam Smith Business School, The University of Glasgow, United Kingdom. He is a China-Africa Engagement Researcher. He is also a co-founder at Africacv and a Senior Researcher at Afriscaper.

Richtopia uses cookies to give you the best online experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, revised Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.