Union (American Civil War)

During the American Civil War, the Union was a name used to refer to the federal government of the United States, which was supported by the 20 free states and five border slave states.

It was opposed by 11 southern slave states that had declared a secession to join together to form the Confederacy.

The Union has often been referred to as “the North”, both then and now.

This page was last edited on